A Translation Attempt

29 05 2005

I translated my best malayalam poem (as per friends’ opinion). Well, it is a love letter (wrote in 2004, March). I do not consider myself to have done justice to own language. Translation is an aweful task. Malayalam version is very much better. I feel so! Obviously, this is not the claim of a poet, but just an interested scribbler- me. Still, I managed to do this!

FIRST LOVE LETTER

Dear Emilda,

I’m incomplete.
I longed for your incompleteness,
Throughout my quest for the completeness.
In those verses you scribbled with silence
And those orphaned phrases that bleeded,
And in sobers from some unknown constraints,
I searched for a few serene dew drops of love.
Without our consent.
Perhaps, even without mine.
Today, when I miss your presense,
When you haunt my soul
As an unanswered riddle,
Singing in a rhythm that arouses my pangs
I realize that I loved you.
My love always resided like the touching harmony
Of Yaman Kalyani,
A melody that flowed from the depths of a mute.
Never did our eyes get locked at each other.
Never did we speak with shivering, cold lips.
But never can I throw you
Into that dark forgettable wastebin of memories.
You glow like a splinter, yet burning my soul.
Perhaps, these bruises and its pain make my love.
When words of Neruda and Marcquez prick me
I know, it will be you; knocking at the my door.
With sadistic pleasure you refresh my wounds.
And with time you will be my synonym,
For wounds, for pangs and above all for love.

Actions

Information

6 responses

31 05 2005
-സുനില്‍-

പമ്മനേപ്പോലെ മലയാളത്തില്‍ ബ്ലോഗ്ഗിക്കൂടേ?

7 06 2005
Anonymous

Aaraada ninte emilda. valla meenakshiyo aayisha kuttiyo aayirunnenkil vishwasikkaamaayirunnu… oru latin american touch varuthiyaal ellaam aayi ennaaano…

19 10 2005
Anonymous

That was awesome, that has inspired me to work harder and score more marks in yur subject. Especially that pyramid problem was one of yur magic tricks. By the way which subject do yu teach……

NOTE; By using singularity functions yu can find emilda.There will be a lecture on in by one of our department teachers if yu want attend it.

19 10 2005
Anonymous

That was awesome, that has inspired me to work harder and score more marks in yur subject. Especially that pyramid problem was one of yur magic tricks. By the way which subject do yu teach……

NOTE; By using singularity functions yu can find emilda.There will be a lecture on in by one of our department teachers if yu want attend it.

20 10 2005
aYyApPaDaS a. M.

Dear Mr. anonymous ….

You can’t evaluate “Emilda” with Singularity functions. It is a totally different cup of tea where mathematics goes handicapped. 🙂

Oh yes, sure you will be able to get insight into a lot of physical aspects of science with that……. Somehow, I feel that even the best mathematics goes unusable when it comes to deciphering emotions….. Some things can only be felt ….. But yes, both comes in different arenas of life which have to co-exist………. 🙂

17 02 2007
hari

ayyappdas it is excellent
i would like to read it from yhe bottom to the top!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

