“Nee Enn Sarga Soundaryamee” – A dare to translate my best song in malayalam.

18 06 2005
I can’t imagine, simply can’t; a malyalee who has not liked this song. If he/she wasn’t still arround when this one came up. Or if he/she hasn’t heard this, till now. A glorious poem from the film “Kathodu Kathoram”. This is my favourite song. Romantic, poetic and everything great accroding to me. I wasn’t amazed when my uncle (presently working in those barren deserts of UAE) also liked it to the same extend. A generation gap of 10 years melted down before this sublime human feeling to love and to be loved …………

This is infact is a dare. A dare to translate this beautiful song to english (if you are a malayalee, I know how you felt about it). This is no authentic translation and I cannot claim the exactness in verses. Also, this isn’t a word by word translation either. This is simply the way I felt (forgive me for incompeteness, if it is). Just for the sake of it and with no intension to destroy the beauty of this beautiful piece of prose. I had no intention for such a “blasphemy” and would like to appologise, if in fact I have. I love this one and so just had a thought that if somebody else, who doesn’t know malayalam, could also appreciate it (might be my fault. Mia Culpa 😦 ).

The original verses, as accurate as I can recall, in manglish (malayalam written in english).


Nee Enn Sarga Soundaryamee (Original)

Nee enn sarga sounrayamee,
Nee enn sathya sangeethamee.
Ninte sangeerthanam, sangeerthanam
Ooro enangalil.
Paduvan nee teertha mann veena njyan.
Nee enn sarga sounrayamee ……

Poomanavum thazhe ee bhubiyniyum
Shenha lavanyamee ninte deevalayam.
Goopuram neele ayiram deepam,
Ozhuki ozhuki mezhukuthirikal charthi,
Madhura mozhikal killikalathine vazhthi ….
Melle, njyanum koode paadunnu

Nee enn sarga sounrayamee……..

Thalangalil deeva paathangalil,
Bali puujakkivar pookalanengiloo.
Poovukalaakam ayiram Janman,
Nerukil eniya thikina kanika charthi,
Thozhuthu thozhuthu tharalamizhikal chimmi.
Poovin Jeevan thedum sneham nee,

Nee enn sarga sounrayamee ………..


My Translation – To the enchantress of my poetic macrocosm


Oh dear;
You are the enchantress of my poetic macrocosm,
My eternal symphony.

Your incessant canticle,
Your magnificient rhythmic hymn,
To fiddle that harmonious melody,
To metamorphosis it into unexplicable reverberant tunes,
You created me
as a string out of earthen pot.
And here I’m for you, for ever ……

Oh dear;
You are the enchantress of my poetic macrocosm.

The charisma from the sky
And the benevolent soil down below our feet
Stand still like a temple praising your love and exemplor.
And in each tower, flamboyant with a thousand flames of light,
You flow like candle lights, firing each unlit ones on the altar
As sweet melodious verses ever praised by birds.
Still, I yearned.

But could only sing within my reticence,
As the chorus with your voice …..

Oh dear;
You are the enchantress of my poetic macrocosm.

In those plates of flowers to be offerd to the deity,
In the tenderness of those sacrificial offerings,
Let my love be too.
To remain as the floral oblation for a thousand eons,
With a drop of sacred water on my forehead,
These folded hands and the meditating wink of my eyes yearn.
And you-
You are the love that searches the soul of each offered flower.

Oh dear;
You are the enchantress of my poetic macrocosm …..


PS : This is not an exact word by word translation. The author claims no responsibilty for its exactness.
A special thanks for Krishna Prasad, for pointing out some mistakes in the intial post of the same.

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 06 2005
Anonymous

Quote: “Poetry is what gets lost in translation.” —
Poetry, meaning not ‘verses’, i.e. not ‘kavyam’, but ‘kavitha’;
The words ‘Kavitha’ and ‘Poetry’ mean exactly the same things, and both has two meanings,
The genre of literature ‘poetry’ is perhaps the genre least damaged by translation, for the ‘language’ of poets is the same all over the world, it’s not curbed by silly rules of syntax, and it’s instantly understandable, once the transliteration of the words into a familiar language is done.
The second, more figurative, abstract meaning of ‘poetry’, meaning the quality that distinguishes what is poetic from what is not, can be applied to describe absolutely anything. This last part of the previous sentence isn’t exactly clear. I don’t know how to make it clear, read on. You might understand it without me saying it.
In the quoted statement, it’s the second sense of the word that’s meant, surely. Malayalabhaashaykk oru kavithayunde, there’s a poetry about it, that only malayalis can feel. When something is absent, you understand what its importance is. Reading your translation, anyone who loved that song will realize the ‘poetry’ of malayalam language.

18 06 2005
aYyApPaDaS a. M.

Thank you for the comments. I agree and appreciate it. Well, after this “attempt”, I have realized how “super natural” a task it is to translate a “poem” into an entirely different language (in the cultural context).

22 06 2005
Ashutosh

waiting for ur next blog….

15 12 2011
Nitin

lol..this is not a romantic song. This is a devotional song.

6 08 2013
dedicated hosting

This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!|

Leave a Reply

